The Steering Committee

The Beasley Youth Asset Development Initiative Steering Committee is a group of dedicated Hamiltonians that represent the various sectors of the community. The functions of the committee are:

  • Act as a resource in the development of the initiative
  • Review and advise around dissemination of Search Institute survey data
  • Review and update shared measures to ensure the outcomes are aligned with the goals of the initiative
  • Support the Beasley Youth Advisory Committee through participation in events and projects
  • Assist with resolving strategic level issues and risks
  • Provide opportunities for dialogue in an effort to enhance the collaboration and coordination among organizations
  • Review and approve final initiative deliverables

Current members of the Steering Committee include:

Jason Farr – Ward 2 City Councillor, City of Hamilton

Doug Ward – Director,  Express Employment Professionals

Peter Joshua – Superintendent of Student Achievement, Hamilton Wentworth District School Board

Leah Schwenger – Former Principal, Dr. Davey Elementary, Hamilton Wentworth District School Board

Sgt. Jon Alsbergas – Youth Services Coordinator, Hamilton Police Service

Mike Shea – Superintendent of Corporate Services, Hamilton Police Service

Irene Heffernan – Interim Manager, Neighbourhood Action Strategy, City of Hamilton

Paul Lakin – Business Development Officer, FirstOntario Credit Union